Norwegian Heritage Tour (summer 2016)

Carol Palm from United States traveled to Norway in 2016
5

Our trip was perfect. Everyone was very happy with the arrangements and sad to leave Norway. For most part the weather cooperated so we were able to do almost everything that we were scheduled to see and then more. We had a very thorough tour of Lillehammer with our relative who has more knowledge of the country then history books, and has done so much work on our family background that we were filled in on family dating back to 1700's.. Our grandson was quite excited to find out that his family name of Jorgen can be traced (so far) back in the family first Jorgen of 1730. We spent a lot of time on the farms and land of the family. Our driver was a delight and we were delighted and surprised to have a guide to add her knowledge and expertise to Even (relative.) The Molla was a great hotel in which to stay. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. The hotel had the wonderful charm and flavor of Norway. I would highly recommend this hotel. Our son Thom said it was his favorite of the trip. Next was the Clarion in Oslo. Unfortunately, we had a very rainy day in Oslo, however, it did not impact our tour there so very much as we were in and out of the car and lucky to have the rain go to a drizzle when walking. The guide was wonderful to be able to work around the rain so it did not interfere. We found that we did cut ourselves a bit short of Oslo by staying in Lillehammer later on Sunday although we did leave a couple hours earlier than our original train schedule. It would have been nice to tour the new Opera House but our schedule did not meet their tour. Thom and Melanie did get into the lobby. We were very surprised at the hotel. They, the hotel, included dinner and afternoon tea during our stay there. The trip to Flam was great. The weather was very warm and sunny the whole time so the cruise was wonderful. We loved the hotel and the Pub beer tasting was fun. However, they did not understand that we were there as part of our FireBirdTour so they were not sure what to do with us for a while. We were then seated and served, but asked for our voucher. I had given them the confirmation number but they were not able to find anything to correspond. They wanted something with a bar code they could scan such as is shown on the train tickets. This is not something that is downloaded from the itinerary, only the sheet with the confirmation is part of the itinerary. I was carrying all of that so I gave the manager the sheet and underlined the confirmation number and description. It all worked out and it was fun. The day in Balestrand was great and just what we needed after moving around so much. We were placed in the beautiful historic part of the hotel with a wonderful large balcony overlooking the fjord. Thom and Jorgen rented a canoe for a time. We sat on the rocks with our snacks and drinks, walked the area, went to the Cider Store, and spent a very long time on the "Public Beach" skipping rocks and relaxing. Of course, the public beach is a very very small strip of rocks, and absolutely beautiful. Then to Bergen. Our boat rides were fantastic with the only way a person could really see the beauty of Norway with the Mountain looming on both sides, the snow on the tops and the fantastic waterfalls with the charming villages along the shores. Our grandson made the comment that it did not look real but a beautiful photograph. Again it was a day with perfect weather which made the boat ride so much more fantastic. We saw all of Bergen. The guide was great in her explanation and knowledge of the history to Bergen. She kindly answered our many questions. On our own we later toured the old section across the fjord from the Clarion Admiral. It was fun to go into the stores. When you look across the fjord to them it looks like a postcard painting. A wonderful surprise and coincidence happened in Bergen. Thom's educational degree and career is that of a lighting designer for theater - 30 years ago he toured Europe and the US with the Phillip Glass Music Ensemble. Thom was the Lighting Designer for the Ensembles Performances/Concerts. Phillip Glass was in Bergen performing while we were there. Thom was able to get two tickets to the performance for he and Jorgen and after the concert meet with Phillip Glass and the Ensemble members (which somewhere still the members during his touring with them.) It was so great that he was able to attend this concert and meet with Phillip Glass after 30 years. Small World! So that ends our tour and I would only, if I had a do-over, make one small change. That would be to depart from Lillehammer late evening after our 8 hour tour, or early on Sunday so we could have spent a bit more time exploring Oslo. We have no complaints. The food was fantastic. The breakfast in each of the hotels are unbelievable. The people in the hotels helpful with everything included umbrellas in Oslo. We learned so much from the guides assigned to our tours. They were knowledgeable, gracious, and helpful. We could not have had better. But I must say, if a person is not in good shape and able to walk they could not do what we did. We walked so much and so many hills every day and every place we went. I am very grateful that my husband and I are and were able to do all of the waking - hills and stairs - because we were able to see so much more that way. We all kindly thank you.

Published,
May 25, 2016
Read more Collapse
5
4.91
161 Reviews
4-starhotels
8 days4 cities

View an amazing natural phenomenon, Aurora Borealis, and enjoy breathtaking nature of Norway and Lapland. Our excellent travel arrangements, remarkable accommodation, and expert guides will make your trip to Norway a real treat. 

5
4.96
183 Reviews
Next Date: May 10, 2020
10 days5 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm

An exciting Scandinavian adventure worth the ride! Enjoy the outstanding highlights of Denmark, Norway, and Sweden with local pros.

5
4.98
183 Reviews
4-starhotels
10 days5 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm

Discover Scandinavian nature's masterpieces with a private alternative to our classic trip to Scandinavia, custom tour around Sweden, Norway & Denmark. Four city tours with our excellent guides jazzed up with a funicular ride, prepare for a great adventure!

5
5.00
204 Reviews
Next Date: May 10, 2020
12 days6 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki

Simply the best tour of Scandinavia. Travel by train, ferry, and plane from Denmark on to Norway fjords, Sweden, and enjoy time in Helsinki!

5
4.89
204 Reviews
12 days6 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki

Set off on a Scandinavia adventure you've been dreaming of with a fully customizable private itinerary which can be tailored around your preferences. Four countries, best hotels, varied connections, and outstanding sightseeing tours all in 1 program. Already packing your bags?

5
5.00
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
Next Date: May 30, 2020
9 days6 cities

Enjoy the best of Norway's treasures - Viking heritage in the overwhelming natural beauty of fjords. Travel in a small group to its most remote corners, authentic towns & capitals with a comprehensive Norway tour.

5
4.88
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
9 days6 cities

Traverse the most sought-after destinations of Norway in one fully customizable private tour. Ride on the picturesque Flamsbana railway, enjoy city tours with professional guides, have a day trip to the Briksdal Glacier, take the Hurtigruten cruise to Alesund and more.

5
4.95
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
Next Date: May 12, 2020
6 days3 cities
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen

Have an outstanding time exploring the most-visited destinations in Norway! Join a petite group of no more than 14 people and enjoy insightful guided tours with local professional guides, stays at top central properties, as well as memorable activities, including a fjords cruise, a ride on the world's most scenic railway, and more!

5
4.88
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
6 days4 cities

Set off on an all-embracing insightful 6-day exploration of Norway. Take in the beauty of the fjords and towns, and ride on the world's most scenic railway.

5
4.82
183 Reviews
10 days5 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm

Have an unforgettable time in Scandinavia and discover the legendary treasures of Denmark, Norway, and Sweden during your private family trip. The tour is planned specifically for families and includes fascinating activities suitable for kids of different ages.

5
4.83
161 Reviews
4, 5-staraccommodation
11 days4 cities

Set sail on a cruise of your life and make your from Oslo, then all the way above the Arctic Circle, and after southbound to Bergen. See northern Norway's unique fjords and locations, such as the Lofoten Islands, with your own eyes! Enjoy guided tours with local professional guides and top-notch accommodation.

5
4.83
160 Reviews
4, 5-staraccommodation
12 days4 cities

Sail up to the Arctic Circle on one of the most beautiful scenic cruises in the world. Enjoy Olso, Flam, and Bergen, then make your way north to Alesund, Geiranger, and the Lofoten Islands. An amazing experience, paired with a detailed land tour of the Norway most famous cities and sights.

5
4.89
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
9 days4 cities

Love to explore the paths less traveled? Enjoy the top Norwegian destinations and attractions with a private itinerary combining guided Norway sightseeing with hiking and uniting with nature. This hiking tour in Norway is a great solution!

5
4.80
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
9 days5 cities

Experience the magnificence of Norwegian fjords from land and water during the 9-day private tour to the most sought after destinations from Oslo to Bergen, including a hike to the famous Troll's Tongue.

5
4.87
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
10 days5 cities
Venture off to the 68th parallel to enjoy the exuberant beauty of Norway's best hidden treasure, the Lofoten Islands. Experience the Midnight Sun & marvel at the fjords with our private tour of Norway.
4
4.00
183 Reviews
4-starhotels
12 days5 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm

This is the land where history was made and we welcome you on an enthralling exploration of Viking Heritage! With nine excellent city tours and outstanding accommodation you are sure to have the time of your life.

5
4.75
161 Reviews
4, 5-staraccommodation
11 days4 cities

Norwegian tour and cruise in winter. Explore the land of glaciers, enjoy traditional winter activities of Norway and experience the magic of Northern Lights.

5
4.96
160 Reviews
4-starhotels
9 days4 cities

Experience unforgettable views of Norwegian waterfalls and Fjords traveling to country most remote highlights & cozy authentic towns with award-winning Norway vacation packages. Your tour will also include a Floibanen Funicular ride and a Wildlife Sea Safari.

4
4.00
161 Reviews
4-starhotels
12 days7 cities

Discover a beautiful part of Scandinavia with its jaw-dropping fjords, glaciers and unique cities during your tailor-made 12-day tour to Svalbard and Norway.

4
4.00
182 Reviews
4, 5-staraccommodation
16 days8 cities

Discover the majestic north as you make your way from Oslo to Helsinki via the Arctic Circle. Visit Santa Claus in Lapland, go dog sledding, stay at a Snow Hotel and in Glass Igloos.

5
4.88
210 Reviews
17 days9 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki
EstoniaEstonia:Tallinn
LatviaLatvia:Riga
LithuaniaLithuania:Vilnius

Embark on a Scandinavia journey with an extension to "hidden treasures" of Baltic States. An extended version of our classic package tour of the region.

4
4.00
247 Reviews
Next Date: May 10, 2020
16 days8 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki

Enjoy the wonders of Scandinavia and Russia during this well-balanced all-inclusive tour. Visit Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Russia with a small group. All the arrangements are on us, including your visas. 

5
4.96
247 Reviews
4, 5-starhotels
16 days8 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki

There is hardly any other journey in the world that can match to a level of cultural diversity and impressions! Explore Natural wonders of Norway and Scandinavia and finish your journey in the heart of Russia.

5
4.97
239 Reviews
Next Date: May 10, 2020
16 days7 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki

Discover entire Scandinavia, enjoying all the capitals and must-sees from Copenhagen to Helsinki, and then continue your trip to Russia's St, Petersburg, taking advantage of the opportunity to travel there visa-free.

5
4.89
210 Reviews
Next Date: May 10, 2020
17 days9 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki
EstoniaEstonia:Tallinn
LatviaLatvia:Riga
LithuaniaLithuania:Vilnius
With this explicit tour of Northern Europe, experience magnificent Scandinavia, continue to Finland and finish your trip in the Baltics. You will be exploring one-of-a-kind sights like Viking Ship Museum, Rock Church, and many other landmarks during nine guided city tours.
5
4.84
183 Reviews
13 days7 cities

If you love traveling by train, this is your best program. Explore Scandinavian capitals and fantastic Fjords on Trans-Scandinavian.

5
4.88
204 Reviews
9 days4 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo
SwedenSweden:Stockholm
FinlandFinland:Helsinki

Discover Scandinavia in all its magnificence with our tailor-made Platinum program which combines luxury and 5-star comfort with rich sightseeing. This private tour itinerary will make for your journey of a lifetime.

5
4.90
177 Reviews
4-starhotels
10 days5 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
SwedenSweden:Malmo
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen

Get ready to uncover major modern architecture gems in Scandinavia during our private 10-day program to Copenhagen, Oslo, Flam, and Bergen.

5
4.92
183 Reviews
4-starhotels
7 days3 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo
SwedenSweden:Stockholm

Sett off on an inspirational adventure and take in the charm of the colorful Copenhagen, magnificent Oslo, and spectacular Stockholm.

4
4.00
183 Reviews
4-starhotels
10 days5 cities
DenmarkDenmark:Copenhagen
NorwayNorway:Oslo, Flam, Bergen
SwedenSweden:Stockholm

Combine your desire to see Scandinavia at its best with an in-depth exploration of the theatrical and opera heritage of these glorious countries. Visit the most iconic destinations, enjoy exciting activities and varied transportation, as well as guided tours with local professionals topped with stays at top-rated properties.