Trip of a Lifetime to Winter Russia + Helsinki

Rob Anderson from United States traveled to Russia, Finland in 2016
5

Well, this truly was the trip of a lifetime. We have traveled a lot but both agree this is the best one yet. At every turn, your people were standing there with signs to greet us. We had absolutely no problems with anything on the entire trip. The first morning when we walked to the Monastery to hear the Male Choir was a great experience. It couldn't have been better. David decided he wanted to get a better view and insisted that we climb the spiral staircase, only to find out that is where the Choir sits. They were kind but motioned for us to return to the main floor. The service was beautiful and was a true Russian experience. The fact that you were able to get us to tickets to the Bolshoi Theater to see the Nutcracker on our first night was unbelievable. The seats were on the main floor, 5 rows back center could not have been better. The guides were remarkable. The one in Moscow couldn't have been more knowledgeable. We were stunned at the amount of information he was able to share with us. We were given such a comprehensive view of Russian history that it made it come alive for us. While in Red Square, he saw one of his friends who is a Bass in a singing group called Doros. He said we will see and hear him later. In St Basil's Cathedral in Red Square, he took us to meet his friends in one of the chapels who did indeed sing for us. It was a truly moving experience. The amazing Kremlin Armory was so worth doing. I expected it to be all about weapons and armor, but that is just a small piece of it. It was not at all what we expected. The finery, Royal Coaches, gifts from foreign countries and Crown Jewels were jaw-dropping. As we were leaving Moscow, we were stuck in a traffic jam and our driver was impressive. So good at what he does. We were late because of the traffic so our guide grabbed two of our bags, helped us jump the lines at security and raced with us onto our coach, got us on board, said goodbye, hugged us and ran for the door as the train was starting to move. He went over and above what was expected of him. We can't wait to hear what he will name his new baby which will arrive sometime very soon. In St. Petersburg, again the driver met us with a smile. Our guide there also is so good at what he does. I can understand why the company employees these guys. They are totally professional. At the Hermitage, he guided us through the maze of palaces and showed us the highlights, while keeping us safe from the pick pocket teams that were waiting to pray on the tourists. We sort of feared for him as he had been threatened by them if he pointed them out to his clients. He took us to some wonderful places to purchase Russian treasures which were of outstanding quality, much different that we had seen in other stores and shops. The Vodka tasting was a unique experience. We both loved it, although David struggled with shooting the shots instead of sipping. We were able to take over 1000 photos many of which we shared on Facebook. The comments from people were mostly... "Thank your for letting us see your photos and share in your adventure." Many were stunned to see the beauty of Russia. It is so different from what our perceptions were before we left. We were glad we were able to share it with others. In Helsinki, we were again met by our smiling driver. What a kind gentle man. Our guide was so accommodating and a breath of fresh air. The first thing he said was "Do you want a Sauna?" I wanted to try it, but David was a bit hesitant. When we went to the place they had planned, it was packed with people who were enjoying the time off for the holidays. We opted to try that on another trip. We were taken to the most beautiful sights. We also did our share of shopping. The hotels that were booked for us were spectacular and the staff helpful and very friendly and most had excellent English. I want to say how impressed we were with how smooth the process of getting the Visa's was. You made it almost effortless on our part. Your company is to be commended for such an outstanding job. Especially helpful with our questions and fears and quick to answer any of our concerns. We couldn't be happier that we found the company to help us discover the magic of Russia. We definitely want to return when we can spend more time in beautiful Russia. Thank you again for everything. Rob Anderson

Published,
January 26, 2016
Read more Collapse

Finland

5
4.88
101 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
7 days3 cities
Finland1 country
HelsinkiTurkuSavonlinna

Discover authentic vibe of Finland with our private Finland tour. See the beauty of the Finnish Lakeland and feel the modern vibe of Helsinki with our custom package trip.

5
4.30
101 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
7 days2 cities
Finland1 country
HelsinkiSavonlinna

Be charmed by the mesmerizing land of Finland, see Helsinki, Savonlinna and the breathtaking Punkaharju ridge in our 7-day private tour.

Moscow & St. Petersburg

5
4.95
57 Reviews
Small group tour
4, 5-starHotels
Nearest Date: Aug 23, 2019
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Enjoy the classic 4+ star program, seeing the major highlights of two gorgeous Russian capitals and taking advantage of the best guides, downtown hotels and good value for money.

5
4.50
57 Reviews
Small group tour
4-starHotel
Nearest Date: Aug 23, 2019
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Find your inspiration and fall in love with genuine Russia, exploring the must-sees of Moscow and St. Petersburg with the professional local guides, our signature service, and the best value for money.

5
4.88
57 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starHotels
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Immerse yourself in the highlights of Russia's two most popular destinations. See the top attractions of Moscow and St. Petersburg in as little as 1 week. Guided sightseeing tours, stays at outstanding hotels, as well as Russian visas included.

5
5.00
57 Reviews
Small group tour
5-starHotel
Nearest Date: Aug 30, 2019
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Embark on a journey-of-a-lifetime with our very popular small group tour to Moscow and St. Petersburg. Prepare to witness and fall in love with the great culture, art and history of the country, visible on every corner of the magnificent cities.

5
5.00
57 Reviews
Private tour
5-starHotel
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Our private tour to Moscow and St. Petersburg is a dream come true: accommodation in select 5-star properties, sightseeing tours with professional local guides, private drivers, included visa processing, and all the must-sees in one trip.

5
4.88
57 Reviews
Private tour
5-starHotel
11 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Prepare to savor your time during 5-star stays next to Kremlin and Nevsky. We have planned a perfect combination of expert touring and activities, so you can experience the best of Russia with local pro guides.

5
4.89
57 Reviews
Small group tour
5-starHotel
Nearest Date: Aug 30, 2019
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

See the glorious Russian capitals at their best with the Premium tour package. Central 5-star hotels, top local guides, and all the highlights in one nine-day trip.

Russia

5
4.93
57 Reviews
Private tour
5-starHotel
11 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Cross Russia off your bucket list of "must" journeys of a lifetime with the ultimate private itinerary, built around your preferences. Enjoy all the unmissable sights with local pros, stay at best 5-star central hotels, private transfers, free visas, and plenty of free time to explore on your own.

5
4.95
49 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
7 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg

Meet Saint Petersburg, Russia's most beautiful city. Our private St. Petersburg tour shows you the very best of what the city has to offer with professional guides. Complimentary Russian visas and accommodation in best central 4-star hotels included.

5
4.89
57 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starHotels
16 days4 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint PetersburgPetrozavodsk

Get an in-depth exploration of Russia during the fully-customizable private tour with included Russian visas and best hotels that covers it all: ancient towns called "Russian Vatican", the gorgeous region of Karelia, Kizhi Island and traditional villages, as well as the unmissable sights of both capitals, Moscow and St. Petersburg.

5
4.89
49 Reviews
Private tour
5-starHotel
7 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg

Embark on an incredible journey to Russia's northen capital - Saint Petersburg and see the best of the city with your fully customizable seven day tour. Explore the most beautiful Russian city and visit famous sights like the Hermitage Museum.

5
4.95
49 Reviews
Private tour
5-starHotel
7 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg

Travel to St. Petersburg with our hallmark private tour with free Russian visas. Stay at best 5-star hotels, travel on high-speed trains, and enjoy the services of private drivers and professional local guides. From Russia with love!

5
4.94
48 Reviews
Private tour
5-starHotel
4 days1 city
Russia1 country
Moscow
Experience the best of Russia’s bustling metropolitan capital, glorious Moscow, and see its main highlights during an exclusive 4-day private tour. Explore the iconic Red Square, go inside the Kremlin walls to its famous Armoury Chamber, and see the best of Russian art in Tretyakov Gallery.
5
4.89
57 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
12 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowMurmanskSaint Petersburg

Treat yourself to some winter magic as you explore glorious Russia during the snowy winter months. Enjoy the two capitals, Moscow & St. Petersburg, northern Murmansk, as well as unique activities, including a Russian troyka horse ride, northern lights seeking, meeting a Saami family, and more!

Trans-Siberian

5
4.98
48 Reviews
Small group rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
Nearest Date: May 17, 2020
16 days7 cities
Russia1 country
VladivostokKhabarovskUlan-UdeListvyanka VillageIrkutskEkaterinburgMoscow

EARLY BIRD Cross Russia from east to west along the iconic Trans-Siberian railroad. This program includes travel in a private detachable train car, stays at best hotels, guided sightseeing tours, fun activities, as well as Russian visas.

5
4.98
48 Reviews
Small group rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
Nearest Date: May 17, 2020
16 days7 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan-UdeKhabarovskVladivostok

EARLY BIRD Have an adventure of a lifetime on a tailor-made Trans-Siberian journey. Explore the top sights of Russia from one end to the other in a small group of 8 to 18 travelers. 1st-class accommodation on a private train car and at top-notch hotels, Russian visa-processing, tour leader services, as well as all the must-sees included.

5
4.82
48 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
20 days11 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowNizhny NovgorodPermEkaterinburgNovosibirskKrasnoyarskListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan-UdeKhabarovskVladivostok

A perfect match for active travelers seeking to explore all Russia. Apart from visiting the mighty capital - Moscow, you get to see multi-sided and diverse Russia far and wide during your adventure. Cross Siberia, discover genuine Russian towns and reach Vladivostok!

5
4.92
48 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
10 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowListvyanka VillageIrkutsk

Dreaming of going on a private Trans-Siberian adventure but are short on time? Enjoy the highlights of the famous railway with a real-deal authentic experience on Russian trains, explore Moscow and the Lake Baikal region with professional local pros. Stays at best hotels of your choice, airport transfers, and Russian visas included.

Volga River

5
4.98
57 Reviews
Cruise
5-starAccommodation
Nearest Date: Aug 29, 2019
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Have the time of your life while discovering the best of Russia aboard the boutique MS Volga Dream. This premium river cruise has it all: best tours of Russia's major landmarks, uniques experiences, impeccable service.

5
5.00
57 Reviews
Cruise
5-starAccommodation
Nearest Date: Aug 29, 2019
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Set off on an amazing journey on Volga River aboard the 5-star MS Volga Dream ship. Discover the authentic Russian culture by visiting quaint villages while traveling from Moscow to St. Petersburg and enjoying the impeccable service.

Central Asia

5
4.93
52 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-starAccommodations
Nearest Date: Apr 13, 2020
21 days6 cities
ChinaKazakhstanRussia3 countries
BeijingXianDunhuangTurpanAlmatyMoscow

Unique Silk Road adventure from Moscow to Beijing through the exotic Central Asian countries. Begin your Trans-Siberian adventure with a guided city tour of the gorgeous Chinese capital - Beijing and the world-famous landmark, the Great Wall of China, then board a top-quality train and discover a new city gem of Eurasia at every stop you make. 

The Baltics

5
4.83
63 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
10 days4 cities
LithuaniaLatviaEstoniaRussia4 countries
VilniusRigaTallinnSaint Petersburg

Set forth on a journey of discovery around the splendid Baltic capitals: Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn and then make your way to the sparkling Northern capital of Russia - St. Petersburg. Learn a lot about the history and culture of the countries from excellent guide tours in nine locations. 

Finland, Lapland

5
4.96
102 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
7 days2 cities
Finland1 country
HelsinkiRovaniemi

Set off on an amazing Northern Lights journey in Finland. Exceptional guides, carefully planned winter activities, and only the best Aurora Borealis seeking tours is what you can expect from this all-inclusive highly customizable package.

5
4.96
102 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
7 days4 cities
Finland1 country
HelsinkiRovaniemiLapland RegionInari

Witness the beauty of Finland in winter with our private Northern Lights tour. Visit Santa Claus Village and enjoy all kinds of fun winter activities.

Russia, Moscow & St. Petersburg

5
4.88
57 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starHotels
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Going to Russia is always an unforgettable experience to remember for years and years! Enjoy top sights of Moscow & St. Petersburg: from the beauty of the Red Square and the Kremlin to Peterhof Parks and Catherine's Palace, with our tailor-made private tour.

Moscow & St. Petersburg, Russia

5
4.88
57 Reviews
Small group tour
4, 5-starHotels
Nearest Date: Aug 28, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Set off on an unforgettable small group tour and see the best of extraordinary Russia. Stay in the centrally located hotels, enjoy guided sightseeing tours, see the highlights of Moscow, St Petersburg, the Golden Ring, and immerse yourself in the local culture.

5
4.87
57 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
12 days5 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint PetersburgSortavalaPetrozavodskMurmansk
Discover the majestic Russian winter as you explore the brilliant Moscow and Saint Petersburg, the inspiring Karelia region and make your way up north to witness the dazzling Northern Lights. Experience a cooking class, vodka tasting, snowmobile riding, husky dog sledding, and meet the Saami people.
5
4.88
57 Reviews
Private tour
3, 4, 5-starHotels
13 days4 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowIrkutskListvyanka VillageSaint Petersburg

Discover the most sought-after gems of Russia and enjoy the best of Moscow, Irkutsk, St. Petersburg and the outstanding Pearl of Siberia - Lake Baikal.

5
4.97
57 Reviews
Small group tour
4, 5-starHotels
Nearest Date: Aug 28, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Treat yourself to an impeccable Russia experience and tour the two capitals and the historical Golden Ring towns with our Premium package. Best 5-star hotels, Russian visas, top sights, and all the must-sees included.

5
4.83
57 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
13 days5 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalYaroslavlKazanSaint Petersburg

Catch authentic Russian spirit, setting off on a UNESCO tour and enjoying extensive sightseeing around the two gorgeous Russian capitals as well as exploring some hidden gems of such historic locations as Kazan, Veliky Novgorod and Vladimir.

Trans-Siberian, Mongolia

5
4.78
49 Reviews
Small group rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
Nearest Date: May 17, 2020
14 days5 cities
MongoliaRussia2 countries
Ulan BatorListvyanka VillageIrkutskEkaterinburgMoscow

EARLY BIRD Treat yourself to the adventure of a lifetime on the legendary Trans-Siberian railway and enjoy the comfort of 1st class on a private train car, the country's top guides and best expert service.

5
4.68
49 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
14 days5 cities
MongoliaRussia2 countries
Ulan BatorListvyanka VillageIrkutskEkaterinburgMoscow

Set off on the journey of a lifetime along the longest railway in the world! Start the ride from Ulan Bator along the Trans-Mongolian leg, then cross the border and head to the capital of Russia, gorgeous Moscow, passing such gems as Lake Baikal and the main city of the Ural region, Ekaterinburg along the way.

5
4.89
49 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
14 days5 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

Begin your 2-week journey along the world's longest railway and travel from the capital of Russia, via Yekateringburg to Lake Baikal, ending your trip with Mongolia. This program is a great balance of rail experience with plenty of guided exploration on land.

5
4.78
49 Reviews
Small group rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
Nearest Date: May 17, 2020
14 days5 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

EARLY BIRD Cross 1/3 of the world on the legendary Trans-Mongolian railway in just 14 days: from mighty Moscow to glorious Ekaterinburg. Absorb the beauty of Lake Baikal and explore the Buddhist and nomadic traditions of Mongolia.

5
4.96
49 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
17 days6 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowKazanEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

Start your journey along the Trans-Mongolian railway in stunning Moscow, then visit glorious Kazan to see the cradle of Tatar culture. Continue to Ekaterinburg, set right on the border of Europe and Asia. Absorb the beauty of Lake Baikal and vast wilderness of the Great Steppe, before you finally reach Ulan Bator.

5
5.00
48 Reviews
Tourist trains
5-starAccommodation
Nearest Date: Aug 31, 2019
15 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowKazanVladivostok

The Golden Eagle is a one-of-a-kind luxury train - a glamorous throwback to the golden age of steam engines on the Trans-Siberian railway route. Overwhelming Moscow, unique Russian towns, magnificent Lake Baikal and the city of Vladivostok all combined with special onboard entertainment, exceptional service and unique cultual experiences.

Norway, Finland, Lapland

4
4.00
180 Reviews
Private tour
4-starHotel
16 days7 cities
NorwayFinland2 countries
OsloBergenKirkenesInariLapland RegionRovaniemiHelsinki

Discover the majestic north as you make your way from Oslo to Helsinki via the Arctic Circle. Visit Santa Claus in Lapland, go dog sledding, stay at a Snow Hotel and in Glass Igloos.

Trans-Siberian, Mongolia, China

5
4.89
60 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4, 5-starHotels
23 days8 cities
RussiaMongoliaChina3 countries
Saint PetersburgMoscowKazanEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan BatorBeijing

Start your exploration from royal St. Petersburg, continue to mighty Moscow, cross over Ural Mountains, visit Irkutsk, absorb the beauty of Lake Baikal. Next - Mongolia's Ulan Bator before crossing the Gobi Desert and arriving in the capital of oriental magic, Beijing.

5
4.76
49 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4-starHotels
15 days4 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

A classic three-country Trans-Siberian with the combination of trains and downtown hotels, carefully planned sightseeing, and flexible program.

5
4.93
51 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-starAccommodations
Nearest Date: Aug 23, 2019
16 days6 cities
RussiaMongoliaChina3 countries
MoscowKazanIrkutskUlan-UdeUlan BatorBeijing

The Tsar's Gold Trans-Siberian rail-tour focuses on your experience and comfort, providing every opportunity for enjoying your journey of a lifetime. Explore Russian towns to get an insight of real Russia, experience genuine Mongolia and finally discover the best of Chinese heritage in and around Beijing.

5
4.79
50 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-starAccommodations
Nearest Date: Aug 26, 2019
15 days3 cities
RussiaChina2 countries
MoscowKazanBeijing

The unique Trans-Siberian journey from Moscow to Beijing on the Imperial Russia train combines sense of adventure with comfort of private train. Feel the imperial spirit of Russia's endless expanses, enjoy the Mongolian hospitality and rich culture, get inspired by the legacy of China - all adventures are in 15 unforgettable days.

Norway, Sweden, Finland, Denmark

5
5.00
202 Reviews
Small group tour
3, 4-starHotels
Nearest Date: Aug 25, 2019
12 days6 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinland4 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinki

EARLY BIRD Simply the best tour of Scandinavia. Travel by train, ferry, and plane from Denmark on to Norway fjords, Sweden, and enjoy time in Helsinki!

Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland

5
4.89
202 Reviews
Private tour
3, 4-starHotels
12 days6 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinland4 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinki

Set off on a Scandinavia adventure you've been dreaming of with a fully customizable private itinerary which can be tailored around your preferences. Four countries, best hotels, varied connections, and outstanding sightseeing tours all in 1 program. Already packing your bags?

5
4.88
202 Reviews
Private tour
5-starHotel
9 days4 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinland4 countries
CopenhagenOsloStockholmHelsinki

Discover Scandinavia in all its magnificence with our tailor-made Platinum program which combines luxury and 5-star comfort with rich sightseeing. This private tour itinerary will make for your journey of a lifetime.

Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Russia

4
4.00
245 Reviews
Small group tour
3, 4-starHotels
Nearest Date: Aug 25, 2019
16 days8 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinlandRussia5 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinkiSaint PetersburgMoscow

Enjoy the wonders of Scandinavia and Russia during this well-balanced all-inclusive tour. Visit Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Russia with a small group. All the arrangements are on us, including your visas. 

5
4.96
245 Reviews
Private tour
3, 4-starHotels
16 days8 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinlandRussia5 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinkiSaint PetersburgMoscow

There is hardly any other journey in the world that can match to a level of cultural diversity and impressions! Explore Natural wonders of Norway and Scandinavia and finish your journey in the heart of Russia.

5
4.97
237 Reviews
Small group tour
3, 4-starHotels
Nearest Date: Sep 01, 2019
16 days7 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinlandRussia5 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinkiSaint Petersburg

Discover entire Scandinavia, enjoying all the capitals and must-sees from Copenhagen to Helsinki, and then continue your trip to Russia's St, Petersburg, taking advantage of the opportunity to travel there visa-free.

Scandinavia, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, The Baltics

5
4.89
208 Reviews
Small group tour
4-starHotel
Nearest Date: Aug 25, 2019
17 days9 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinlandEstoniaLatviaLithuania7 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinkiTallinnRigaVilnius
With this explicit tour of Northern Europe, experience magnificent Scandinavia, continue to Finland and finish your trip in the Baltics. You will be exploring one-of-a-kind sights like Viking Ship Museum, Rock Church, and many other landmarks during nine guided city tours.

Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland, The Baltics

5
4.88
208 Reviews
Private tour
3, 4-starHotels
17 days9 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinlandEstoniaLatviaLithuania7 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinkiTallinnRigaVilnius

Embark on a Scandinavia journey with an extension to "hidden treasures" of Baltic States. An extended version of our classic package tour of the region.