You are here

Visit Kremlin: Russia's Red-Walled Symbol

The capital's main landmark is the mighty Moscow Kremlin - the executive office of the government of the Russian Federation, situated in the center of town.

It is among of the oldest parts of Moscow and is often referred to as the Eighth Wonder of the World. The ancient fortified building complex stands on the banks of the Moskva River and is made up of the Kremlin towers and wall, 4 gorgeous cathedrals and 5 unique palaces. The Kremlin is well-recognized around the globe and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1990.

The Cathedral Square

The Cathedral Square located within the walls encompasses the limestone-faced Cathedral of the Dormition (the place of imperial coronations), the gilded-domed Cathedral of the Annunciation (the chapel of the Imperial Family) and the Cathedral of the Archangel Michael (where many Russian tsars are buried).

Armory Chamber

Today some of the palaces are museums, the most visited of which is the famous Armory Chamber storing the country’s most prized collection of artifacts. The Armory displays the Tzars' household objects, weapons, jewelry such as the ornate crown of Catherine the Great, the 36.2-kilogram (80-pound) Great Triangle gold nugget and a collection of 50 luxury Faberge eggs.

The Kremlin is one of the main symbols of the country, its origins can be traced back right to the foundation of the city in 1147. It is an absolute must-see in the capital of Russia. The walls of the historic beauty were originally made of wood and were burnt down and rebuilt numerous times, yet today's fortified walls are exceptionally thick and interspersed with 20 incredible towers and can be seen from many landmarks in central Moscow.